Having trouble with past trauma and discussing it

Any questions or discussions that you ONLY want to discuss with our staff or volunteers.
(Users: please do not reply to other users here.)
PrincessLuLu
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: obsessed with big bang theory
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: Straight

Having trouble with past trauma and discussing it

Unread post by PrincessLuLu »

I am an American female college student in her early 20's, and a year and 4 months ago (New Year's Eve), I experienced a sexual assault. Physically nothing was or is wrong, but emotionally/psychologically it has been very difficult. When it first happened, the only two people I told were a family friend (she was at the party where it happened and she made me let her in the bathroom and tell her what was wrong) and one close friend of mine. I am now in a long term monogamous relationship with my boyfriend Nate* (name changed for privacy), and we've been together for a year and two months. All in all, our relationship is pretty good (we are both happy, get along well and generally good with communicating). I have not told him about this at all (all I told him was that my New Year's sucked when it came up in conversation). The other night I went out drinking with another good friend of mine Ryan*(Name also changed) and after we left the bars we were talking, catching up since we hadn't seen each other in a while. Anyways, when we were talking it came up in conversation (don't really remember exactly how but not the point) and I told Ryan everything. He was very supportive and encouraging. I mentioned I never actually told Nate about it, and for some reason I felt bad I didn't. He said it was my decision but I should if it was what I wanted to do. I want to tell Nate about this, partly because telling someone and not hiding it has helped me a lot, and also because for some reason I feel like he would want to know. For a very long time, I blamed myself for w